This slideshow requires JavaScript.

*2013 INKWELL AWARDS DONATION & RESULTS BOOK: besides the regular edition we mentioned earlier with sexy cover art of Ms. Inkwell by Ed Coutts, we have another fantastic version available! A Special Edition of this book will sport front and back cover art by the fan-favorite good-girl/pin-up artist, Franchesco, with his own *stunning* rendition of our spokes model character! (The “partial image” is the inventive flip cover–are we clever or what?) 🙂


2013 Inkwell Awards Celebrate Inkers at 3rd Annual Heroes Con Awards Ceremony; The Original Ms. Inkwell Makes Her Return!


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“Voting for the 6th annual Inkwell Awards has ended, the ballots have been tallied and the comic book inking advocacy now prepares for its third live awards ceremony at the 2013 Heroes Con June 7-9 to reveal the highly-anticipated results.  Voting was done online through the group’s web site and heavily promoted through Facebook, Twitter, comics sites and other outlets.

“After a long year of fundraising, programs, conventions, promotion, various duties and all of the passion and effort involved, the Inkwell family is always ecstatic to celebrate our goal of promoting the art form of Inking and the industry’s best Ink Artists” said Bob Almond, the non-profit organization’s founder and director. “We can never show enough gratitude to Heroes Con promoter Shelton Drum and his staff for making this mission an annual reality, supporting inkers in the community with the respect and recognition they deserve.”

Continue reading 2013 Inkwell Awards Celebrate Inkers at 3rd Annual Heroes Con Awards Ceremony; The Original Ms. Inkwell Makes Her Return!

2013 Dave Simons Inkwell Memorial Scholarship Fund award recipient: Ji Wook Moon!

The Kubert School Scholarship Ceremony- May 3, 2013!

For the Inkwell Awards-sponsored Dave Simons Inkwell Memorial Scholarship Fund, this year’s winner and 4th recipient was Ji Wook Moon! And with perfect attendance to boot!

To see all of the 2013 Winners click this link!

Continue reading 2013 Dave Simons Inkwell Memorial Scholarship Fund award recipient: Ji Wook Moon!

DAN ADKINS: 1937-2013


Three years after the passing of his wife, J. David Spurlock announced today on his Facebook page of the passing of the artist himself:

I went to Reading PA yesterday to buy Steranko and Adkins dinner. Neither Steranko nor myself had been able to reach Adkins. After dinner with Steranko, I hit the road back to New York only to be phoned by Steranko who had just received word from Adkins’ son that Dan left this world last week. In addition to many other credits, including T.H.U.N.D.E.R. Agents, Dr. Strange, lots of sci-fi illustrations, and much of the best inking ever done for Marvel, Adkins served as an art director at Marvel, was key to Wood launching Witzend, and he also mentored a number of young artists including Paul Gulacy, Val Mayerik and P. Craig Russell. He is missed.

— J. David Spurlock

For those not familiar with Dan and his career, Mark Evanier has posted an article on him. The Inkwell Awards extends it’s sincere condolences for his family and friends for their loss.

Ms. Inkwell To The Rescue: New Auctions On eBay

ms.inkwellWhat does a non-profit charity do when a major comic book convention is cancelled and a city put on lockdown due to evil terrorists, blocking them from seeking donations for essential fundraising? You call in your spokesmodel….Ms. Inkwell to the Rescue! The Inkwell Awards are auctioning off their previously donated original art intended for the upcoming Ms. Inkwell Gallery charity book in order to raise funds necessary to buy trophies and bring in award recipients to the Charlotte Heroes Con live awards ceremony June 7-9. Wave One takes place Saturday the 27th and Wave Two the following weekend. If you like sexy, good girl art then check the art interpretations of Ms. India Wells by the likes of artists Trevor Von Eeden, Fred Hembeck, Neil Vokes, Gerry Acerno, Jay Fife, Mark McKenna, Mike Pascale, Michael Netzer, Sara Richard, Tom Schloendorn, Tod Allen Smith, Mike Okamoto, Jeremy Dale, Dean Kotz, Alex Saviuk, Louis Small, Jr., Ed Coutts, Roger Andrews, Phil Moy, Michael W. Kellar, Charles Barnett III, Bob Almond, Leonardo Gondim and the original prelim design drawings of Ms. Inkwell from 2009 by Randy Green! Visit The Inkwell eBay site

Trouble Voting?

We at the Inkwell Awards have received a couple of notes that people couldn’t access the official voting ballot page (https://inkwellawards.justsurvey.me/323041814f54).  Those sources that we heard from were using Mac computers. But other Mac users told us that they were successful.  So all we can deduct from this is that some Mac users may have settings that are not compatible or that your browser isn’t.  When these users used Safari and had a problem, going to Firefox solved the dilemma.  Or using one’s 4g phone or iPad or another venue did.  If you are one of the silent minority that have had issues with our ballot, please take a second to try the alternative plan.  We hope it works and truly appreciate your time and effort.

The Inkwell Awards Committee Team

BOB’S BLOG: INKBLOTS: special article: We Win Con


While seemingly off-topic, it’s actually not, as many ink artists were effected.  I want to help circulate more attention for my friend Enrica Jang of Red Stylo Media who has formed We Win Con, a non-profit organization set up to help the artists who took a financial hit due to the cancellation of the Boston Con this weekend due to the recent threat of the Boston Marathon Bomber. Below is their statement:

The details: 
We Win Con is helping independent artists and fans who lost money and opportunities from the postponement of the Boston Comic Convention to be able to recoup a little of what they spent.

Artists who are out cash, travel and most importantly SALES this weekend can be featured in an online convention at wewincon.org. We’re also helping raise funds for charity in the process.

To help artists recover some costs so they can get through ’til BCC is back, visit http://wewincon.org/

Our goals:
•Bringing fans to the artists since artists couldn’t get to the fans.
•Gas Card Drive to reimburse artists that drove to Boston and had to turn back.
•Charitable giving for the organizations who were set to receive donations from the show.

Artists will get a FREE featured post, complete with links to their own online stores. Those without stores, Red Stylo Media is donating online space in their store to help promote sales. Any interested artist can email info@wewincon.org 

@wewincon on twitter


Vote Now For The Inkwell Awards From April 15-30

Joe Sinnott with his 2008 trophies for Favorite Inker and Hall of Fame

(New Bedford, MA/USA—April 14, 2013) The Inkwell Awards, a non-profit organization devoted to educating and promoting the art of inking, invites the public to vote for the industry’s best of the past year. The official public ballot will be available on the Inkwell Awards’  homepage from April 15 through April 30. Voting is open to everyone, whether fans or professional peers. The winners will be announced at the live awards ceremony at Heroes Con in Charlotte, NC June 7-9.

Continue reading Vote Now For The Inkwell Awards From April 15-30